Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Decision Tree Question 2

Is the technology on the Commerce Control List (CCL) and does it have a military application in addition to a civilian application?

YES  |  NO

There are ten categories of items in the Commerce Control List, plus a catch-all category (EAR99):

0 – Nuclear Materials, Facilities, and Equipment and misc. items

1 – Materials, Chemicals, Microorganisms, and Toxins

2 – Materials Processing

3 – Electronics

4 – Computers

5 – Telecommunications (Part 1) and Information Security (Part 2)

6 – Sensors and Lasers

7 – Navigation and Avionics

8 – Marine

9 – Propulsion Systems, Space Vehicles and Related Equipment

The Commerce Control List (CCL) is maintained by the Bureau of Industry and Security (part of the US Department of Commerce) as part of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR). This list is sometimes called the “dual use” list, as the items on it may have either a military or commercial application.

** Items on the Commerce Control List are generally designated by categories represented by the letters A, B, and C following the initial digit in an Export Control Commodity Number (ECCN). Examples are ECCNs such as 4A994, 5B001, and 1C351.

  • A category = Systems, Equipment and Components
  • B category = Test, Inspection and Production Equipment
  • C category = Materials

If you have questions as to whether your item is listed on the Commerce Control List, contact Jane Burns ( and James Andes (

Back to Export Controls Decision Tree starting point.

Design and content used by permission of Stanford Univeristy (updated 2008).